Four Find-Your-Fate (FYF) books were produced for The Three Investigators series. These are similar to the Choose-Your-Own-Adventure books that were so popular in the 1980's. The reader has a decision or choice to make on nearly every page which will affect the outcome of the story. This is your opportunity to actually be Jupiter Jones! Will
you succeed or fail in solving the mystery . . .

The four T3I  FYF books can be found in the "keyhole" paperback trade edition (there's a sihouette of a keyhole at the top of the spine, see picture below). They nicely match on the shelf with the original 43 T3I books and the Book of Mystery Puzzles from that same "keyhole" paperback edition. 

Each of the four FYF titles are also found in a "Reinforced Library Binding" (RLB) hardbound format and have slightly larger dimensions than the paperbacks. These hardback RLB's are similar in construction to the sturdy and more familiar Random House Gibraltar Library Binding (GLB) but are smaller in size. True RLB's will have an oval logo on the rear cover containing the words "reinforced library binding" (see picture below). 

Unlike the original 43 T3I titles in the "keyhole" paperback edition, the four FYF books are illustrated throughout. Each of the four books has 124 pages. The first two FYF books are fairly common and easy to acquire but the second two will require some effort to locate, especially "Savage Statue" which is scarce. All four FYF titles in the hardbound RLB edition are very difficult to find, especially in nice condition since most copies were used in libraries. (See pic of spines and rear covers, below.)

The books are:

#1 The Case of the Weeping Coffin - by Megan & H. William Stine,  illustrated by John
                                                              Hulsey, 1985.

#2 The Case of the Dancing Dinosaur - by Rose Estes, illustrated by Vincente, 1985.

#7 The Case of the House of Horrors -  by Megan & H. William Stine, illustrated by
                                                                   Aristides Ruiz, 1986.

#8 The Case of the Savage Statue -  by M.V. Carey, illustrated by Tom Leonard, 1987.

Do not be confused by the fact that the books are numbered 1, 2, 7, and 8 on the spines. There are four additional books in the Random House Find-Your-Fate series but they DO NOT feature The Three Investigators and are completely unrelated.

Christian Andersch has created "graphical solution trees" for each of the four T3I FYF books. You can view these by clicking on the cover of each book, above.
Left: A complete set of the T3I FYF books in paperback and in RLB hardback editions.
Right: Rear covers of the trade paperback and RLB hardback editions (note the oval 
           RLB logo, if a hardback doesn't have this then it is most likely a cheap re-bind).

Back to HOME.